Hit and Run
Hit and Run Attorney – Brett Podolsky
It’s never a good idea to leave the scene of a car accident in the state of Texas. Leaving the scene of an accident, or hit and run, is a crime and can result in severe penalties. Anyone who has already been charged with hit and run or has exercised poor judgment by leaving the scene of an accident should speak with an experienced Houston area hit and run lawyer as soon as possible.
Hit and Run
Depending on the injuries or damage inflicted, a hit and run violation may be prosecuted as either a misdemeanor or felony. The Texas Transportation Code requires every driver to respond affirmatively in the event of a traffic accident that inflicts injury or property damage. Drivers are required to observe the following guidelines in the event of a traffic accident:
- A driver is required to return to the scene of any traffic crash that results in death or injury to render assistance, provide relevant personal information and produce a valid driver’s license upon request.
- A driver must observe the guidelines indicated above in the event of any accident involving an occupied vehicle.
- In the event of a traffic accident involving damage to a vehicle that is unoccupied, the driver is required to stop, search for the owner of the vehicle and provide personal contact information. If the owner is unable to be located, the driver is required to leave a conspicuous note explaining the incident along with personal contact information.
- A driver is required to stop and take appropriate action in the event of an accident that causes damage to highway landscaping or fixtures. The driver is also required to file a police report if the damage exceeds $1,000.
Hit and Run Penalties
Leaving the scene of a traffic accident can lead to surprisingly harsh penalties in the state of Texas. A suspect may be arrested and detained until a judge is available to make a procedural ruling. If a driver is convicted of leaving the scene of an accident, the following punishments may be assessed:
- Class C misdemeanor: A fine of up to $500
- Class B misdemeanor: Up to six months in county jail
- Felony hit and run: Up to five years in prison or a fine of no more than $5,000
- Third-degree felony: Up to 10 years in prison
A first hit and run conviction can result in probation or community service if no one was killed, and the offender has never been convicted of a felony.
Consult With a Houston Hit and Run Lawyer
When someone is being investigated for leaving the scene of an accident, the expertise of a skilled hit and run lawyer will prove to be invaluable.
If you live in the Houston area, call Brett Podolsky at 713-227-0087 for a free case evaluation.