DWI with a Minor Passenger
DWI with a Minor Passenger Attorney – Brett A. Podolsky
In Texas, driving while intoxicated is a serious offense, and that’s even more the case whenever there is a passenger under the age of 18. Charges of driving while intoxicated with a child passenger can occur whenever a motorist has a BAC that is over the legal limit, and is also carrying a child who is age 15 or younger.
In addition to charges of drinking and driving with a minor in the car, individuals could also face child neglect or child abuse charges as well. If the act results in an accident that produces injuries in Houston, civil action could also follow.
Houston Punishments for DWI with Kids in the Car
- Between 180 days and two years in jail
- Fine of up to $10,000
The accused may also face administrative fines from the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles or have his or her driver’s license revoked. In some cases, the act could result in a loss of employment or professional license as well. A loss of child custody or visitation privileges could also be initiated after charges of drinking and driving with a child passenger are filed.
Defending DWI with a Child in the Car
There are a number of defenses that can be used to successfully defend allegations of driving while intoxicated with a minor in the car, including:
- Unlawful traffic stop
- Improperly calibrated equipment
- Involuntary intoxication, which means the actor did not voluntarily consume alcohol
- Officer administering test was not trained to do so
Attorneys who Care
Brett A. Podolsky is an attorney who will look beyond the stigma associated with drinking and driving with a child passenger in order to ensure the client obtains adequate representation. There is plenty at stake in one of these cases, so those who are accused of this crime should contact Brett A Podolsky today at 713-227-0087.