Child Molestation Attorney – Brett Podolsky
Child molestation charges are taken very seriously in the state of Texas. Unfortunately, false allegations of child molestation are all too common. Even if a child molestation charge is ultimately disproved in a court of law, the reputation of a criminal defendant can be permanently damaged. It’s absolutely essential that a child molestation suspect obtain the legal counsel of a veteran Houston area defense lawyer.
Child Molestation Charges in Texas
Being investigated for child molestation isn’t likely to produce much sympathy. It isn’t at all unusual for a sex crime defendant to suddenly feel abandoned by family, friends and coworkers. That’s why every child molestation suspect deserves the confidential counsel of a knowledgeable sex crimes attorney. It’s bad enough to be falsely accused of child molestation, but it’s far worse to be convicted.
False child molestation charges are often motivated by one of the following circumstances:
- Disagreements arising from divorce or custody proceedings
- Children in need of attention
- A strategy to remove a parent from the home
- Confusion caused by sex education
A charge of child molestation does not require an act of sexual intercourse or actual penetration. Improper touching, even through a child’s clothing, can be interpreted as child molestation. Exposing a child to pornographic materials or sexual activity could also result in a criminal charge for child molestation. False claims, assumptions and interpretations by a parent, educator or health professional can easily lead to a sex crime investigation.
Child Molestation Penalties
Child molestation has become a significant problem in the United States. The U.S. Department of Justice claims that there are at least four million pedophiles in our country. There is little tolerance for sexually abusing a minor child. Prosecutors are eager to obtain a conviction, and penalties for Texas child abuse are stiff.
Anyone convicted of a second-degree felony child molestation charge can receive as many as 20 years in a state penitentiary. The use of force or a weapon to commit a sex crime is a first-degree felony in the state of Texas. Conviction could land a defendant in state prison for up to 99 years.
Child Molestation Defense
The time to engage the services of a Houston area child molestation defense lawyer is at the very beginning of a sex crime investigation. Only a qualified defense attorney is prepared to protect a suspect’s constitutional rights and investigate the evidence that will be used by the prosecution to obtain a swift conviction. The investigation by CPS case workers and law enforcement officials must be carefully monitored.
Talk to a Child Molestation Attorney in Houston, TX
The prosecution must prove a charge of child molestation beyond a reasonable doubt. Brett A. Podolsky will do everything possible to have all charges dismissed or reduced prior to going to trial.
Contact Brett A. Podolsky for a free initial consultation at 713-227-0087.